15th Sep 2022
Battery (Simple Batter) is a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Aggravated battery is a second-degree felony in Florida, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Felony battery is a lesser offense than aggravated battery, but a more serious offense than simple battery. A violation of this law is charged as a third-degree felony, which is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If you are not a US citizen, any type of battery conviction may result in your removal from the United States.
A person who commits a second or subsequent battery after a prior conviction for battery, aggravated battery, or felony battery will be charged with a third-degree felony.
Attempting to commit a battery but failing or being prevented from carrying out the battery is punishable as a second-degree misdemeanor. If you have been arrested for battery or assault in Miami, then you may want to call an experienced criminal defense attorney for legal advice.