31st Jan 2023
Aggravated vs Non-Aggravated Manslaughter Penalties in Florida
Manslaughter is assigned and put into law and has a Level 7 offense severity ranking under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code. As such, a judge is required to sentence a person convicted of manslaughter.
Non-aggravated manslaughter, also known as simple manslaughter, can be punishable with a minimum sentence of 9 ¼ years in prison, and could also be sentenced for up to the statutory maximum of 15 years. On top of that, it can include penalties in the form of fines, suspension of the driver’s license, community service, parole, probation, and more.
Similarly, there are various groups of people that the state considers entitled to increased protection due to their special vulnerability or their roles in society. Individuals such as elderly, disabled, children under the age of 18, law enforcement officers, firemen, EMTs, and paramedics among others. If the manslaughter falls into one of these categories, the violent crime becomes aggravated manslaughter and effectively raising the crime to a first-degree felony with a maximum sentence of 30 years. Manslaughter is aggravated any time the victim is disabled, elderly, or a child, but is only aggravated in the case of the other categories when the victim was actually performing the duties of that job at the time of the killing.
If you have been accused of manslaughter in Miami, then you may want to call an experienced criminal defense attorney for legal advice.