13th Mar 2018
A criminal defense attorney in Miami Dade represents individuals accused of various theft offenses. He or she can explain that Florida law defines the crime of theft as the act of knowingly obtaining or using another’s property to deny the true owner’s access to the property. Florida law recognizes that there are several theft offenses. The potential punishment depends on the value of the property stolen. A criminal defense attorney in Miami Dade may explain the following classifications and consequences for theft charges:
Petit theft offenses are considered less serious than other forms of theft. It is divided into two categories: petit theft in the second degree and petit theft in the first degree. Petit theft of the second offense can be charged if the value of stolen property was less than $100. The maximum sentence for this offense is up to 60 days in jail and a fine up to $500. Petit theft of the first degree is charged if the value of the property is more than $100 but less than $300. The maximum penalty for this offense is up to one year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
Grand theft is considered a more serious version of theft. Third-degree grand theft may involve the theft of property, cash, a stop sign, a motor vehicle, a will or other items of value. This offense is punishable by up to five years in jail and a fine up to $5,000. Grand theft of the second degree is considered a felony offense. It is charged when the value of the property stolen is between $20,000 and $100,000, emergency equipment over $300 or cargo valued at less than $50,000. The maximum penalty for this offense is 15 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000. First degree grand theft is charged when theft causes more than $1,000 in property or real estate damage, the stolen property is worth more than $100,000 or stolen cargo is worth more than $50,000. Potential penalties include up to 30 years imprisonment and a fine up to $10,000.