13th May 2022
In Florida, the penalties you face will vary greatly depending on the type of substance involved, how
much of it you have, where the crime occurred, and what your intentions were in committing the crime.
Felonies of Drug Possession
According to the Florida Statutes, a first-degree felony is punishable in Florida by up to 30 years in prison
and a fine of up to $10,000.
A second-degree felony is punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.
Upon conviction for a third-degree felony for possession, a penalty of up to five years in prison and a
fine of up to $5,000 can be given. Possession of 20 grams or more of marijuana is a third-degree felony;
possession of fewer than 20 grams of marijuana is a first-degree misdemeanor.
Other penalties may include:
• Community service
• Counseling and/or treatment
• Random drug testing
• Two-year driver’s license suspension, with a one-year hard suspension
The charges are resolved in drug court for drug offense probation. Drug offender probation includes a
drug evaluation and follow-up treatment, as well as frequent urine testing. More serious charges include
possession with the intent to sell and drug trafficking.
No one should face drug charges in Florida alone. If you have been accused of drug possession in Miami
then you may want to call an experienced criminal defense attorney for legal advice.