30th Jul 2022
In the state of Florida, there are several types of weapon-related charges, including:
– Illegal possession of firearms.
– Gun trafficking.
– Possession of concealed weapons.
– The making of firearms.
– The shooting of firearms.
– The use of weapons under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
– The use of weapons by children under age.
– Possession of an Illegal Firearm
The state of Florida restricts weapon possession and requires its citizens to have a license, permit or certificate for firearm possession. In case of minors, the first offense is considered a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable up to 3 days detention and 100 hours of community service. The sub-sequence offense is considered a third-degree felony and is punishable by up to 15 days detention and 100 to 250 hours of community service.
For convicted felons, the law considers the possession of illegal firearms as a second-degree felony condemned by up to 15 years imprisonment, a fine of up to 10,000, or both.
The punishment resulting from a conviction under these charges can go from a misdemeanor to a felony. No one should face firearm charges in Florida alone. If you have been charged for possessing a weapon in Miami then you may want to call an experienced criminal defense attorney for legal advice.